Did Leopard Security Update Stop Sharing with Older Mac’s?

December 19, 2007

Leopard Sharing with Older Computers Broke

With Leopard my old G4 tower was showing up in my Shared area of a Finder window and I was able to access the G4 and share it’s screen. Yesterday I noticed that my G4 was no longer showing up in Finder windows? A Windows PC is all that shows up now. The only thing I can think of that might have changed things was the Apple Security update recently released for Leopard Clients and Servers? If Apple disabled this intentionally that is RIDICULOUS!

I can’t update my old G4 to Leopard and I am not going to go out and buy a new computer to share iTunes and backup files to. Has anyone else noticed this? I do want to make sure it wasn’t some other small change that I made.

OK I turned off File Sharing on my G4 and then turned it back on and now I have access again!

Whew I was nervous!

I thought about removing this Blog entry but I will leave it in case it can help someone if they run into this.

4 Responses to “Did Leopard Security Update Stop Sharing with Older Mac’s?”

  1. Mike Rice Says:

    I also have a G4 tower (400 mhz CPU, 768M RAM, OS 10.4.11) which still shows up, connects, shares & etc just fine.

  2. Pat M Says:

    Huh I guess I will have some troubleshooting to do?

  3. Pat M Says:

    OK I turned off File Sharing on my G4 and then turned it back on and now I have access again!

    Whew I was nervous!

    I thought about removing this Blog entry but I will leave it in case it can help someone if they run into this.

  4. Pat M Says:

    Well it has happened again and then later it started working again so it appears that there are some issue’s with networking? It has only happened twice and I was able to get it working again but I don’t really know what is causing it? It is possible that it is caused by something in my setup or software combination and not Leopard? I don’t see it as a huge problem just an annoyance if I am trying to access my G4 and can’t but I am confident that I can resolve it if it arises again. If nothing else I think turning off and then on again sharing on the G4 will resolve it?


Leave a Reply

