Leopard Not Shutting Down

November 9, 2007

 Time Machine screenshot

I don’t know if anyone else is having this issue but the majority of the times that I try to shut down my computer with Leopard it gets to where it just shows the desktop with no menu bars or anything and has the little rotating tickmark. It just keeps rotating the tick marks forever and doesn’t shut down?

I thought maybe it was because I had ejected my Time Machine disk so I tried it with the disk still mounted and the first time it shut down correctly but since then it hasn’t. Because it worked the first time I think it might have something to do with Time Machine but I’m not sure?

Any thoughts on this?

8 Responses to “Leopard Not Shutting Down”

  1. Darren Says:

    I have had a similar problem with shutting down Leopard. In stead of shutting down fully sometimes the machines just go to sleep. I’ll walk into my study in the morning or when I get home from work and the computer will be on again.

  2. Pat M Says:

    Yeah mine just sits there with the rotating tick marks forever and I have to do a hard shutdown? It hasn’t been every time but a majority probably?

  3. Gary Says:

    I am also experiencing this issue on my brand new iMac. I have submitted a support request to both my supplier and Apple Support. We’ll see what comes of this.

  4. Pat M Says:

    I think it’s a Leopard issue? My iMac 20″ (white) has been shutting down mostly now but once in a while it doesn’t?

  5. Scott Says:

    I have had similar problems on my PowerPC PowerMac where the monitor appears to have shut down but the tower fan continues to whirl… sounds like a jet taking off.

  6. Barrett Says:

    I have problems with my power G5 ever since I installed Leopard. Freezes constantly and doesn’t want to shut down. have to hard shut it down. anybody come up with a solution. looked through apple.com but they don’t have anything about it….

  7. Gareth Says:

    I have this problem as well now. Happened just after the 10.5.3 update. Was thinking the two were linked, but now I see people have had this problem for a while. Any feedback from Apple about it?

  8. Pat M Says:

    One thing I was thinking is maybe Time Machine is backing up but I’m not sure if that’s the case?

    I have waited and had it shut down but sometimes it just wouldn’t. I haven’t had the problem in a while now?


Leave a Reply

