I Want A Drobo!

October 22, 2007

Drobo

You ask what is a Drobo?

Drobo is a exactly what I have been looking for to manage my hard drive space and data protection requirements.
It has 4 drive spaces which your computer will see as one big drive. The drive spaces are hot swapable with 3.5″ SATA I or SATA II hard drives in any mix of drive sizes and brands and Drobo employs data protection. It manages all of the drives and data protection automatically without user input. I could keep trying to explain it but it would be much easier for you to watch the demo video and check out their site.

Also check out Drobolator a capacity calculator that shows you how much useable space you would have by dragging different sized drives into the on screen Drobo.

When a drive starts getting full or is having problems a light next to the drive let’s you know and you can just pull that drive out and put in a larger or more stable one. The only drawback that I see right now is that it only interfaces with USB 2 but they are adding more options in the future. Something like this is exactly what I have been looking for to add storage and protect data.

Here’s a review of the Drobo from Aperture Users Professional Network.

One Response to “I Want A Drobo!”

  1. Steve Says:

    Sweat looking box! I feel like I should pet it.


Leave a Reply

